Back to All Events

Landscape x Olympia Video Residency


Olympia and Landscape are proud to present a monthlong video program focused on showcasing the work of women and genderqueer artists. Every week showcases a different group of artists in Landscape's Project Space Pop-Up Theater. Gender-identity, intersectionality, and the body are central components to the 4-week residency, but the range of subject matter extends well beyond the scope of queer & femme experience, with a particular interest in videos that do things – that in some way perform actions. All of the selected works provoke a reshaping of our experience as audience.

Olympia (the curatorial project of Ali Rossi), in collaboration with guest curator Eliza Doyle, seeks to provide a context for women and queer artists to show moving image work. Their purpose is to create a forum for artists and filmmakers to engage in an ongoing dialogue over the course of their residency at Landscape.

Formally launched in Spring 2018, Landscape is supported through a portion of all Elsewhere ticket sales. Operating outside of the traditional gallery model, Landscape encourages broader participation and patronage in the arts. Through a seasonal program of installations, performances, permanent commissions and community events led by Elsewhere’s Art Director, Molly Surno, Landscape invites collaboration and experimentation with unique emerging voices in the international contemporary art world.

Olympia and Landscape are aligned in their missions to facilitate alternative contexts for experiencing and curating contemporary art. These organizations aim to present work that is directly reflective of its time, context, and surrounding community, with a particular focus on representing queer and POC voices. In a wealth-saturated contemporary art world, it is more critical than ever to foster DIY spaces (both physical and digital) that speak to a diverse range of artists and creators. Elsewhere's support in organizing and hosting this residency has been invaluable. Landscape’s multidisciplinary gallery space, and dedicated leadership has sharpened and expanded the possibilities of this residency from the very beginning.

Program schedule: 
MELTING (June 25- July 1) 
SPLITTING (July 3 - 8) 
JESTING (July 9 - 15) 
SUSPENDING (July 16 - 22) 
MAPPING (July 23 - 29) 
HEAPING (July 30 - August 5)

Participating Artists: 
Andres Azzolina @ruido.montessori 
Ilana Harris-Babou @ilanahbhb 
Amandla Baraka @totheppl 
Annika Berry @midnight_cow 
Henry Belden 
Heather Benjamin @heatherbenjamin_
Samantha CC @samantha___cc 
ChameckiLerner @chameckilerner
Claire Christerson @clairechristerson 
KYUN-CHOME @kyunchome 
Gabriel Cohen @someadult 
LeLe Dai @guppydaughter 
Eliza Doyle @eliza_soiled 
Hannah Garner @2ndbestdance 
Morrison Gong @morrisongong 
Victoria Gong @vicxxciii 
Scottie Harvey @scohart 
Maggie Hazen @maggiehazen 
Aminah Ibrahim @_._aminah_._
Jasia Kaulbach @jasiaka 
Rachel Kaly @rachel.kaly 
Hazel Katz @it_got_better
Victoria Keddie @vict_0r 
Simone Leitner @simonleitner 
Gara Lonning @garararararara
Jordan Lord @jrd_lord
Erica Magrey @ericamagrey 
Mar G. Mcmahon @femmewad 
Selina Miles @selinamiles 
Yao Ruilin @yaoruilinyao 
Rebecca Shapass @rshapass 
Lily Jue Sheng @lilyjshhh 
Hil Steadman @hil.steadman 
Ariel Noltimier Strauss @ariel.biz 
Candace Thompson @kandeetee 
Ziyi Wang @sp1zy 
Joanna Warren @joannasmovementblogg5678 
Tæhëe Whang @whitemalepainter 
Lili White @liliwhitenyc 
Elise Wunderlich @home_depot_romance 
Caroline Yost @caro.snake

Earlier Event: June 1
掀起Veil